Photobook Award 2021 finalists have been selected

Viisi kirjaa, osin päällekkäin

The Finnish Photobook Award, co-organised by the Finnish Museum of Photography and the Association of Photographic Artists, is granted annually to a fine art photographic book. This year marks the fifth anniversary of the Award. A total of 24 high-quality applications were received, out of which five finalists were chosen.

The finalists of the Photobook Award 2021 are:

Elina Brotherus: Seabound. A logbook (Kehrer)
Laura Horelli: Changes in Direction. A Journal (ArchiveBooks)
Marko Hämäläinen: Silence moves with the wind
Niko Luoma: For Each Minute – Sixty-five Seconds (Hatje Cantz)
Sheung Yiu: Ground Truth (The Eriskay Connection)

The finalists were selected by a pre-selection jury consisting of museum director Susanna Luojus from Salo Art Museum and artists Tuukka Kaila and Santeri Tuori.

The winner will be chosen by photographic artist paula roush from London. Announcing the winner will take place at an open online event on Tuesday 19 April at 3 p.m. The winner will be granted a prize of 2,000 euros and the other finalists 500 euros.

More information about the finalists can be found on the Photobook Award website. The finalist books are also available for purchase at the gallery’s bookshop (Yrjönkatu 8–10) and on our web shop.

The award highlights the book as a form of fine art photography and as an independent art work.  Our aim is to encourage and motivate authors of photobooks and to invite the public to become familiar with the art form. The Award will be granted for a high-quality fine art photographic book by a Finnish or Finland based artist. The winning book of the 2021 award must be published in year 2021. 


More information and press images:

Jenni Pekkarinen
+358 50 397 7339

image: Minna Kurjenluoma